Sun, 2/10 – Happy Chinese New Year! Paleo? Not gonna happen…

Today is the Lunar New Year and year of the snake. Ahh….I remember growing up my mom used to cook an entire dining table of food and the only people who got to eat all of this food was me…well mostly me. I helped prepare most of it so I felt entitled to it.

Chinese-New-Year

Today, I will not be on the Paleo diet… I will eat rice and noodles and sugary confections. Yes, it’s my off day. I’ve been really good about staying on all week, but this is a traditional day to eat traditional food. Sides, being Asian and not eating rice ESPECIALLY on Chinese New Year Day is like not eating turkey for Thanksgiving, or no cranberry sauce, or no stuffing….and the list goes on. Yes, it would be weird if I didn’t eat rice today….so I don’t want to be weird.

Oh rice….how I’ve missed you so much! I’ve definitely enjoyed cauliflower rice. It’s a great substitute that doesn’t give me that overwhelming full feeling. But it’s nice to have the original and be baddddd…..sometimes.

480182_10100957938390965_1840636687_n

So today, I had friends over and cooked a wide variety of dishes to celebrate the new year. I didn’t exercise today so I’ll omit that and just start listing the dishes. I didn’t cook a lot per dish, so each dish may have had about 6 servings…

Char Sui – Chinese BBQ
2lbs of Pork brined for several hours then marinated over night with Char Sui Sauce – I used the KOH seasoning packet because it was easy, and with the meat being brined and marinated, the flavor was sure to be there, and it definitely was. I may have over cooked it a bit, but I didn’t mind the crispiness of the exterior.

Mongolian Beef with Green Beans and Mushrooms
I also used a seasoning packet here when I should not have. It was not cooked right. Definitely not saucy and may have been the actual seasoning I used itself. Never again.

Chinese 5 Spice Pork with Bok Choy, Ginger and Mushrooms
I used the Chinese Five Spice jar of seasoning, but I started it all from scratch. It was pretty good. I think everyone enjoyed that one.

Chicken Dumplings Pan Fried
I can’t remember the brand I used, but it was delicious. Especially with Gyoza Dipping Sauce

Veggie Lo Mein
Delish – I liked this one, the flavor was there but I may have over cooked the noodles

Chicken Lettuce Wraps
These were ok. I didn’t cook them, and they turned out weird…but it didn’t taste bad, and I did get 1 lettuce cup full.

Shrimp Fried Rice – Made by a friend
This was pretty good, I didn’t make it so I can’t quite tell what was all in it.

All in all, it was a good night for friends and food. Hey, at least we didn’t go out to a Chinese Buffet and eat their slimy sauces…yikes.

579622_10100957937946855_16547976_n535686_10100957937812125_1663406104_n

537031_10100957938071605_136969746_n

20130210-235331.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Food Log

Leave a Reply

