Tues, 2/26 – Leek Scramble….my new favorite breakfast dish!

Howdy!

leeks-groupEach week, I am on the hunt for new different veggies that I haven’t tried before. About 2 weeks ago I bought a leek bunch, and I didn’t quite know what to do with it, or worse, I didn’t even know what it was. But it looked interesting and it was cheap. Two weeks later, it was starting to go bad, so I looked up recipes online real quick and found several people highly recommending leek scramble, and how it’s their favorite for breakfast…..so I thought, “Hmm…perfect. I’ll have it for breakfast!” I didn’t even know how to cut this thing up. It looks like an overgrown green onion. I had to look up on youtube, “How to cut a leek” and after I watched a 25 second video, I became a pro. It’s full of nutritional benefits also. A great source for good clean carbs if necessary. I hear it’s great for soups, but let me know if you have a great ideas for this voluptuous green onion.

leek-nutritionleek-nutrition2

Best thing about Leeks – they are like onions except without that bite.
Perfect! I love onions! But I sure do hate that bite! This overgrown green onion has an incredible crunch and is mildly flavored, so after you thinly slice the white part of it, and chop it up, then saute with very little sea salt. I whipped up 2 eggs, then poured it over the sauteed leek, and after about 2 minutes, the whole thing was done. There was no over powering flavor. It wasn’t bland either. Just tasted like eggs and leeks. I personally thought it was fabulous. My new favorite breakfast scramble! I bet if you add like bacon or mushrooms to it, the flavors would enhance greatly. Best thing about it, it’s a Paleo nom!

20130301-013049.jpg

20130301-013100.jpg

20130301-013109.jpg

20130301-013115.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Food Log

Leave a Reply

