Wed, 2/27 – Burgers & Les Miserables!

Thick, juicy, burgers.
Honestly, I can’t even remember the last time I had a burger. It sure as heck wasn’t in the last 2 months since I started this plan. I got so caught up with trying new things that I forgot how the old things tasted. I really missed eating burgers. I loved making home-made burgers and adding onions, mushrooms, a spice blend and patting it out, then grill it on the grilling pan. It was something fun and really tasty to do. I never cared for restaurant burgers quite as much, so I tend to make my own semi-frequently.

Today, I came home from work, and my husband decided to come into town for the night, and he said, “Hey, Les Miserable starts at 8:05, lets try to eat as soon as I get in so we can see it.” I thought, well, that’s a great idea but the original dinner plans I made was a bit more complicated (Mustarg Glazed Chicken Thighs), and I only had an hour to fix dinner. He did mention that he wanted burgers a few days back, so burgers it was! Sides, it was a quick and easy meal, that can be accomplished in less than an hour. I didn’t make complicated side items with it either.

My burger recipe:

  1. In a large glass mixing bowl, add 1 LB of ground sirloin
  2. Add 2 tbsp of brown sugar
  3. Add petite diced onions, portabello mushrooms, (and any other veggies you want in it)
  4. I used a relaxed and generous amount of Weber Gourmet Burger seasoning
  5. Very very light amount of sea salt
  6. Several dashes of Worcestershire sauce
  7. A few dashes of soy sauce
  8. Hand mix them all together
  9. Put some EVOO on your hands, then begin to pat them out into burgers.
  10. This recipe made 4 burgers.

For my side, I just grilled some onions and portabello mushrooms. I was rushed to hurry up and eat, so I didn’t get a chance to make it look tasty. I did however discover Madras Curry Mustard…which made an incredible flavor addition to the burger. Gave it a nice heavy indian spiced flavor.

20130302-194108.jpg

Les Miserables: Anne Hathaway definitely deserved Best Supporting Actress!
What a fantastic film! Anne Hathaway was perfectly casted for Fantine! She conveyed so much emotion, sang so beautifully, had a great “look” for the role.

Hugh Jackman was an incredible lead! They had to do a lot to make this man unattractive – see what I mean?

My favorite couple from the movie: Sacha Baron Cohen and Helen Bonham Carter in the Masters of the House

Great movie, with wonderful, familiar music and a very classic tale about tragedy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Food Log

Leave a Reply

