7/18 – Grillin’ in the dark & Late night HIIT

Hello! It’s a happy Thursday and after a long drive to Charlotte and back, I’m pooped! I woke up this morning out of a coma after yesterday’s workout! Wow! You can definitely tell it was a hard one when you’re completely stiff and tight all over. Glad I had my protein shake afterwards, I think that helped me not be so sore, and avoided Ibuprofen this time.

The best way to knock out soreness in my experience is to continue to workout, even in lower intensity a few days in a row….just work through the pain, and my body will get used to the trauma I put it through. Then the efficiency mechanisms kick in and gets the body ready for that type of intense workout, and all the right muscles will engage, then I can do hard work out after hard workout, and no soreness for awhile until I start missing workouts again. In fact, sometimes I’ll workout so hard having only a couple off days a week that I can’t reach that point of soreness unless I radically change my workouts or increase my weights.

What’s great about that type of “pain” (soreness) is that the next time you “need” to put your body through it, ie: running long distance races, triathlons, unloading heavy bags of sand over and over again, digging trenches, carrying lumber, moving earth…yeah I did all of that recently…the body just engages into preparing for that mode of labor, and you would be SURPRISED that it will not struggle but efficiently pulls all of the right muscles needed to do those things, and I’m not saying it’s completely effortless, but almost. That’s a nice feeling. One of the worst feelings I remember back in the days where I didn’t know “how to exercise” or what types worked for me, just a short flight of stairs would wear me out and I’d be huffin’ and puffin’ like a 200lb diabetic woman. It was so bad that I was embarrassed and would slowly walk up… AND still get a bit winded.

So tonight was an incredibly beautiful night in the middle of nowhere of TN. The sunset was so incredibly blue, that my entire backyard was tinted blue! Then there was a haze of pink and purple off in the distance. In the mountains, you get so many different hues of sunsets….and what a great place to live. ๐Ÿ™‚

I haven’t done a workout yet today, so I am putting one together as I am blogging this. The one I want to do is a rather light HIIT to still get my heart up, help me loosen up, but still engage those muscles I just worked out yesterday. AND I’m doing it after my dinner…which is never a great idea, but I’ll give my tummy a chance to digest before I start.

Late Night HIIT: Light core & body weight movements

  • 25 Pushups
  • 25 Prisoner Squats
  • 25 Inner thigh squat each side
  • 30 secs plank
  • 25 crunches
  • 25 bicycles
  • 30 sec side plank each side
  • 25 trip kick backs
  • 25 bicep curls light weights
  • 5 burpees for extra measure…. ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Here’s my dinner!
I decided to grill out in the dark! I got a steak kabob from Fresh Market and threw on the grill some italian mild sausages, and cut up a whole onion into thick slices and grilled those too. Made a side of fresh avocado salad and had it as my veggie side. I ate on the deck table underneath the moonlight with a little red LED hurricane lantern. Very relaxing evening.

20130718-212624.jpg

20130718-212630.jpg

I picked up this bag of chips called Eat Your Vegetables for my husband tonight. He’s jumping on board on the healthier eating wagon. I hope he stays on.

20130718-212637.jpg

Has anyone ever seen these before? I’ve never seen little mini grapes! They are super cute! I thought about buying a container but I don’t know what I’d do with them! I guess I could eat them like any other grape…but they look like they should be a part of some fancy appetizer.

20130718-212643.jpg

1 Comment

Filed under Exercise Log, Fit Finds, Food Log

One response to “7/18 – Grillin’ in the dark & Late night HIIT

  1. Vantha

    My husband joined me in this light workout and we both finished in just 10 minutes! A perfect non-sweaty workout just enough to put us to bed! Try it sometime!

Leave a Reply

