7/17 – Filthy Fifties & Fresh Vietnamese Summer Rolls

Ahhhh…..the Fabulous Filthy Fifties! It’s a “Crossfit” style workout routine where we do 50 reps of each exercise, but not exactly. We do traditional exercises like chest press, shoulder press, situps, etc….no cleans and snatches or box jumps (by the way, box jumps are super un-safe!)

So today, I woke up, extremely woozy and stumbled to the bathroom, checked my cell phone for emails and messages, and fell back into bed then passed out for another hour. Needless to say, I got to work super late. After 10am….yikes.

I worked my buns off today getting important stuff done, then our power went out 10 mins before the office lets out, and I decide to say, well…guess my workout starts early today. Isn’t that the right attitude? Yea I thought so. So I found all of the flashlights in the warehouse and put them all around in our “box” downstairs and proceeded to work on the Filthy Fifties!

Here’s the workout!

50’s of Everything on this List – I finished in 37:28

  • Chest Press
  • Shoulder Press
  • Full Situps
  • Reverse Crunch
  • Single Arm Rows (50per arm)
  • Jump Pullups
  • Roman Dips
  • Tricep Dips
  • Lunges (50 per leg)
  • Prisoner Squats
  • Weighted side crunch (50 per side)
  • Bicep Curl (15lbs) (50 per side)
  • Pushups

I highly recommend these kind of workouts when you have to do it yourself. Because you can focus on total time completed and compare to last time. We started this workout as a conditioning workout cause we haven’t done other stuff lately, like the short burst tabata workouts…and the first time we started this about a month ago, I finished in about 40mins, then 3 days later, did the exact same workout, and finished in 29 minutes, then 3rd time 2 weeks later, finished in 37mins but I added 1 extra exercise to the mix.

Food Log:

Breakfast only included 1 cup of coffee with creamer and splenda. I know I should eat breakfast, but I like to keep it simple and so I don’t get hungry all day. Eating bfast always makes me hungry…but I know it’s good for me.

Lunch was nice, I had 2 packs of a rice noodle soup, kind of like ramen noodle pack but white rice noodle version. Each pack has 180 cals, but probably less for me cause I didn’t use the oil packet that came with it. I just used the dry spice packets. I ate that, an ounce of cheddar sour cream baked lays and 40 ounces of water from my handy dandy water bottle that sits next to my desk all day.

After workout shake consisted of just 1 scoop of powder with water. I don’t like drinking protein powder, but when I remember, I just guzzle down a scoop, which I think is right for my size and weight.

For dinner I decided to make something that I had at home. I had shrimp and rice wraps, so this was the perfect super low cal, enough protein (maybe not enough for some folks), green veggies, and simple carb dinner. Just shrimp, rice wrap, cucumber, basil and sweet chili sauce for dipping.

Getting back on the wagon is so much easier now in this time of my life than ever before. I think recording my efforts regardless of how nice or eloquent I wrote those posts, just the simple record of the things I did, how I did it, what trouble I went through, and learning from the mistakes, has become an invaluable habit that I didn’t realize drafted my fitness road map.

 And that is an incredible feeling to know that fitness is now a part of my lifestyle and not some yo-yo diet I start 4 times a year with no lasting results.

20130717-201652.jpg

20130717-201659.jpg

20130717-201706.jpg

20130717-201713.jpg

20130717-201722.jpg

20130717-201728.jpg

20130717-201737.jpg

Leave a comment

Filed under Exercise Log, Food Log, Workouts

Leave a comment